User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    SD card error on Hero2

    I just got my hero 2 in and I bought a nice sandisk extreme pro 16gb 45mbps read/write card and i put it in the camera and it just says sd error? anyone know why this is ? spent about 130 bucks onit and the card works in my other cam so i dont think its the card.

  2. #2
    AJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,584
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to the forum firefite.

    The only possibility I can see is that the card is formatted differently for your other camera or something like that...try reformatting your SD card and then try plugging it back into your GoPro.

    Sometimes when you use the card on a camera, there is an imposed file system used on the card so it may not work on other devices.

    Give that a shot and let us know if that fixes the problem.

    Do you have a MAC or PC?
    GoProFanatics.com Admin


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey , I have a PC , and i formatted my card still now luck so not to sure , might just have to try a different card

  4. #4
    AJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,584
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have access to another card, definitely try that. If it still doesn't work, try the card in another device and if the card is OK, then the camera has a problem. At that point, I would contact GoPro Support and I'm sure they will take care of you.
    GoProFanatics.com Admin


  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i went and got a new card (the same one just the 8gig) and it works great and we tried other 16gigs there and they didnt work so i think its just 2 new or to fast and big for the camera or sumthing but ya no 16gig in that card would work

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Interesting discovery. I've got a 32gb class 6 and it works find...strange

  7. #7
    AJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,584
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's definitely strange. I've got a class 10 16GB card and it works. Glad you got it figured out though!
    GoProFanatics.com Admin


  8. #8
    Hobby Mounts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    595
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had this problem recently and it's a simple fix.

    All you need to do is format the memory card USING THE GOPRO. It is mentioned in the manual, page 25 I think.

    Don't use a computer as I first tried as this may not work.

  9. #9
    AJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,584
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, formatting the card using the GoPro ensures it will work, especially if you've been using the card with another device before.
    GoProFanatics.com Admin


  10. #10
    doo925's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ran into this same problem today after buying a 32gb class 10 card off of Ebay. 1st time I put it in the GP, it came up with card error. I went to the delete page as Boro suggested, and deleted all. The error message disappeared. I ran a quick test record and the card works fine. Again, this forum is extremely useful. Thanks guys.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in